Review of A Stroke of Luck by Desiree DeOrto

18169955

RATING: B+

When you work in an all-night diner, you never know who will walk in the door.

Katie Jones doesn’t believe in love at first sight. After divorcing her abusive husband, she doesn’t believe in love at all. But when Jacob Richmond walked into Bud’s Diner, her disbelief was put to the test.

Jacob came to Kansas to find inspiration. He was searching for the subject that would be the muse for his next masterpiece. He wasn’t expecting to find himself completely consumed by a waitress who had more baggage than he thought possible.

When love at first sight just doesn’t cut it, your burning desire can’t be controlled. Sometimes you need just a little luck to put it all together.

He was searching for inspiration….
She was searching for an escape…
But with a Stroke Of Luck, anything can happen.

I’m reminded of some song lyrics…

I Melt

Everytime you look at me that way

It never fails

 Anytime, anyplace

This burn in me

Is the coolest thing

That I’ve ever felt

I Melt!

… and I certainly felt that way while reading this story.

From the very first chapter, I was so captivated by the heat that was coming from my Nook that I almost forgot to breathe; breathing wasn’t a necessity until I found out what happened next. Speaking of the heat, I thought my Nook was over-heating, at first, until I realized it was me who was over-heating! It couldn’t have been hotter if it was happening to me. Of course, if it were happening to me, that would make me the luckiest girl ever. But, I guess that’s why it’s called ‘A Stroke of Luck’.

Katie was the luckiest girl in the world when Jacob walked in to her restaurant and into her life. Not only was he mysteriously sexy, but he was also an artist who was desperate to get his hands on her.

In addition to the amazing story and the intense heat, the writing was fluid and easy to read. There were a few placed that needed some improvement, but I still really enjoyed it.

award~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

