Interview with Author Brielle C.

Name: Brielle C.

198629_10151399858557301_1949849135_n

Website: http:// briellethewritediva.weebly.com

 

 

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

As a single mother, I am required to work to pay my bills until I get a good writing gig that will allow me to not have to work and just live my passion as an author and writer! I currently work in the medical field as a Patient Care Technician/Unit Secretary for my local hospital in the ICU. It pays the bills, but is not my passion and hope to be able to transition into writing full-time.

When and why did you start writing?

I’ve been writing since the age of 12, starting out with poetry, song lyrics, Music is my other passion, so song lyrics and poetry was a natural direction for me to go, initially. I just loved it from the beginning, because it was my way to express myself.

Who is your favorite author and why?

I have always loved the works of Jane Austen. Her poetic way of writing and her dialoque between characters is just beautiful and romantic. Plus, the fact she has created the Supreme Model for a man, Mr. Darcy… unfortunately, very few men can come close to him,lol! (Especially Colin Firth) 😉

Do you feel that Jane Austen inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after her?

She has definitely inspired me in my writing! Some of it is modeled after hers in the styling, the poetic flow, and descriptive images she paints. I love being able to describe my characters in a unique way, but still allowing my readers to envision them in their minds.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

To reach a wide audience, to fulfill a desire and need to get this story out as it was meant to be! To live my passion!!!

Traditional or self publishing and why?

I believe I am going to try traditional publishing… I believe in this work, and it’s potential as a trilogy,I feel needs the backing of an agent and a book deal that will allow me to write while making it a career!

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

The Arabs are under attack by the Catalans after a 500 year reign, to take over the Spanish Island city, Ibiza. The current Sheik, Mutazz, discovers his favored mistress, Azizah, is engaging in an elicit affair with his brother, Muhibb. Azizah is exiled and discovers she is pregnant, but who’s the father? Mutazz, being killed in the seige, dies without knowing he possibly has a son, and Muhibb searches without avail to find the exiled Azizah. Years later, young Khalaf returns to Ibiza, claiming his place on the throne, but will he succeed?

My characters… well most of them…even the supporting characters, have endearing qualities about them. They also possess flaws, inner conflicts, and complexities. As far as hating them, Readers may have a love-hate relationship with Mutazz, the Sheik, and even his Brother, Muhibb.

Since it is not yet complete, it’s hard to determine, but this is the intial impression I have, myself! 😉

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

Oh wow, that’s a great question… it would definitely be classical music (I’m a classically trained soprano) it would fit with the time period, I don’t have any particular pieces, but I think it would have some haunting arabic music to create a great ambiance.

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

Singing. I am classically trained as noted above, so I love to sing for church, as soloist, and hope to make a demo and send it in for review by a record company.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

Travel to Ibiza!! I want to visit it and learn more about he history, culture, and atmosphere, I want to see what my characters saw 900 years ago!

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

Aside from this novel, I am working on getting my children’s book series also launched, as well as editing and republishing my book of prose.

Love my future readers and hope to meet you in the near future!!!

Thank you for being my guest today. I was happy to learn more about you and your wonderful self!

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

