Movie Review- Man of Steel

man-of-steel-posterRATING: B-

I’m not going to go in to too much detail about the specifications of the movie, because I don’t want to give too much away. However, with a cast that includes Amy Adams, Michael Shannon, Kevin Costner, Diane Lane, and Russell Crowe you would think this would be a fantastic adaptation of Superman. Right? Well, it proved to be a bit disappointing. While it was a good movie with great actors, I felt that there was a lot of information squeezed in to a couple of hours, which made it hard to keep track and difficult to understand. That being said, I really enjoyed the extra inside look to Krypton that we don’t normally see in other adaptations. We got to meet Clark’s (or Kal as he is known on Krypton) parents and how he made it to Earth, but we also got to see his connection with the Earth and us humans. However, about 70% of the movie was violent fighting. That is not what Superman is supposed to be about, but considering the end of this movie I can see a possible sequel on the horizon, so maybe we will see of the rest of Clark’s life in the future. The special effects were fantastic (as always with these kinds of movies), and the acting was believable. However, I did not believe Amy Adams as Lois Lane. For some reason, it just didn’t mesh well in my mind. It might have something to do with past Lois Lanes in other adaptations, but I still don’t think Amy Adams was a good choice for this part. I love Amy Adams as an actress, but this was not the movie for her wonderful talents. Like I said, it was a good movie, but I’m not sure it was worth the $14.50 for two tickets. Let’s just say I yawned 3 times within the course of the movie.

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

