Interview with Author Lizzy Ford

Lizzy Ford is the author of over seventeen novels written for young adult and adult paranormal romance readers, to include the internationally bestselling “Rhyn Trilogy,” “Witchling Series” and the “War of Gods” series. Considered a freak of nature by her peers for the ability to write and release a commercial quality novel in under a month, Lizzy has focused on keeping her readers happy by producing brilliant, gritty romances that remind people why true love is a trial worth enduring. I have read several of her books and absolutely love them! So, without further suspense, please help me welcome Lizzy to the laboratory!

375038_239871496071145_1759528476_n

Hello, Lizzy. I’m so happy and honored to have you here. Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?
Howdy! I’m Lizzy, and I write young adult and adult paranormal romance. I’ve also written contemporary, fantasy and other subgenres of romance. I live in Arizona in the Desert with my husband and our three dogs.

When and why did you start writing?
I knew I was meant to be a writer in the third grade, when I wrote a horrible essay about the sun. I would write in notebooks with my serial killer handwriting. Notebook after notebook after notebook. My mom has boxes full of notebooks in her garage still!
Writing has always been a calling for me. I started out writing poetry and fantasy fiction then moved to romance about three years ago.

Who is your favorite author and why?
Jane Austen is my all-time favorite author. I love the humor and details in her writing when it comes to how she creates her characters.

Dark-Summer_cover

Do you feel that Jane Austen inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?
Inspired – yes! Modeled after … it’s hard to say yes to this, mainly because the style of writing done during that period of history is so different from now. I know I learned from her how to make flawed characters – and how those flawed characters either redeem or condemn themselves by the choices they make. I think this is the greatest inspiration I took away from her writing. Redemption is a big theme in a couple of my series.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?
Why, to take over the world, of course!
I love being able to reach people through my writing. Whether it’s a few hours of escapism into a world I create or a deeper connection with a character or circumstance, I hope to help people with the solitary talent I possess.

72738_433409096742469_2096876018_nTraditional or self publishing and why?
I’m a hybrid-indie. I started out – and spent two years – strictly self-publishing. The reason for that is really simple: I was rejected by the traditional publishing industry for over ten years. When technology advanced to the point that self-publishing became a viable, economical option, my husband encouraged me to do it. I was convinced my writing sucked, because I couldn’t even get 98% of the agents and publishers I queried to respond, even with a negative response. But, my sweet husband pushed me to take a chance on myself, and I finally did it, releasing my first novel in January 2011.
This past winter, I signed over two (soon to be three) series to Evatopia, a small press and literary management company out of Beverly Hills whose specialty is books-to-TV.  I turned down other publishers before signing with Evatopia; however, the books-to-TV angle is a niche that no other publisher is in and one that very, very few indies are pursuing. That’s where I want to be: where no one else is looking. The only way to be successful is to identify new opportunities and take a chance on them.

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.401907_457756527641059_54031086_n
“Winter Fire” is my upcoming release. It’s the third book of four in my Witchling Series. The first two books introduce you to the Turner twins – who will become the Masters of Light and Dark on their eighteenth birthdays – and Summer, the girl who is destined to fall for the Master of Dark. The third book is about the Master of Light and how he meets his counterbalance and match in the fire witchling, Morgan.
People love these books because of Decker and Beck, the Turner twins. Decker, the Master of Dark, holds the powers of three elements: fire, water and spirit. They render him dark, brooding, passionate and often, reckless. His brother, Beck, the Master of Light, is an earth element. He’s strong and grounded, but has horrible choice in girls that ends up getting him and his loved ones in a lot of trouble.
The girl everyone loves to hate in all three books: Dawn, Beck’s vindictive ex-girlfriend, who uses Dark magick to try to get rid of both Summer and Morgan.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?
“Between the Raindrops” (featuring Natasha Bedingfield)
“Locked out of Heaven” (Bruno Mars)
“Mad World” (Donnie Darko soundtrack)
“Someday” (Black-eyed Peas)
“To the Moon and Back” (Savage Garden)

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?
I don’t know anymore. Haha! I’ve been so absorbed in writing the past few years … I love to play with my dogs. I do pilates a few times a week and love walking. Of course, I also love spending time with my husband watching horrible B-rated movies.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?
I want to become successful enough as a writer that I can make sure my mom, sister and husband are taken care of for life. I’ve always had the dream that I could help my family and friends. So many people I know and love have suffered so much in life, and I want to give them the chance to be happy. If I could do that, there’s nothing else really in this world that I’d need out of life!

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?
That I appreciate every one of them!  I couldn’t do what I do without the people who constantly encourage and support me. I do my best to give back to readers. We hold giveaways all the time, and I try to respond personally to all the emails, FB messages, tweets, etc., that I receive.

Lizzy’s links online
Website: http://www.guerrillawordfare.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LizzyFordBooksTwitter: http://twitter.com/LizzyFord2010Google+: https://plus.google.com/b/106728579413949863215/#106728579413949863215/Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4558309.Lizzy_FordAmazon: http://www.amazon.com/Lizzy-Ford/e/B004XTTYOC/

2 thoughts on “Interview with Author Lizzy Ford

Leave a Reply

