Interview of Catherine Vickers

I’m sorry I’m behind in posting a lot of things, but I’m going to try to catch up. It’s been a hellish week. Please help me welcome Catherin Vickers.

Website: http://onewomansquestuk.blogspot.co.uk/

Links to book: http://www.amazon.com/Guardian-Dragons-Aarabassa-World-ebook/dp/B00BCK11JQ

 

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

I live on the borderlines of North and West Yorkshire. Near the sheep and cows and some beautiful hills we call the ‘Chevin’. I am a mother of 4 and a grandmother of 2. Plus a pet owner of 3 dogs and a cat. During the day I work as an e-commerce vintage seller. When night sets in, I become an author of fantasy stories.

When and why did you start writing?

Didn’t begin writing until quite late in life, around my 40s. Why? Because on a camping holiday in France it did nothing but rain so I had to find something to do. I have absolutely no idea why, but I created my first fantasy world.

Who is your favorite author and why?

This is not an easy question for any avid reader to answer. I began with Charles Dickens because I was studying. I went on to the Bronte sisters because they lived in the next city to me. I then read Lord of the Rings, before all the movie hype and from then I was hooked on fantasy. I tested the waters of the horror worlds of Brian Lumley, which I thought were fantastic. The witches and vampires of Anne Rice fueled me further. The wonderful rich characters of Raymond E Fiest and the magic ships of Robin Hobb. The list continues to grow and grow …

Do you feel that your favorite authors inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

Most certainly your reading helps you to create but I think that writing a book is just like music or cooking. There are only so many music notes or ingredients to be had, it’s how you put them together that helps to create that magical moment.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

A world that people want to escape into at the end of a long hard day in reality. Characters that you can remember during your normal routine of life, and think, ‘oh I can’t wait to get home and pick up that story and join that particular character and his/her adventures again’.

Traditional or self publishing and why?

As I’ve never been traditionally published I can hardly choose that option. Self publishing is most certainly hard work, much harder than writing your book (because you like to do that). As an indie author you really do need to learn new skills and to be on the computer on and off all day trying to market yourself. For me it’s just a natural part of being a writer as I know no better. What you never had, that being a publisher, you’re never going to miss.

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

Book 2, Flight of a Changeling is to be released beginning of May 2013. This is the follow on from Guardian Dragons. In Book 2 the four young heroes of the plot are about to embark on their individual and separate quests and through them we are introduced to more magical creatures. The Forest Keepers are tiny tree fairies. We will also meet dwarves, centaurs and learn more about the huphins from Book 1. The tale also goes to new lands which are at the other side of the ocean. The dessert lands are where we meet lizard people and ant creatures. As with any epic tale, as it develops so do the characters. The story starts to focus on the three Princes and the Changeling. They are, after all, our heroes. On the bad side we watch as the evil Emperor expands his control of the weak minded.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

When we were making the Book Trailer for Guardian Dragons, I would have loved the music from the Game of Thrones series but, unfortunately, couldn’t have it. If you listen to my trailer you will notice that the music changes about half way through to a famous nursery rhyme, but it is done with an ever increasing beat. I think it works really well. I wouldn’t be very good at choosing what sort of music to use as I’m not very good at remembering titles but, I do think they would be classical tunes with a beat.

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

My ‘day’ job is buying and selling antiques and vintage items. This is something I love to do, searching out old things and then researching them. I also love to take my dogs walking. However, my favourite pastime is babysitting my grandchildren.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

Living in a small country on a smallish island such as the UK, I would love to travel around the larger continents in a big mobile home. I would, of course, follow the sun around the world and avoid the freezing cold weather we have in the UK.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

To keep up with my series please follow me on my blog. I encourage all readers to send me feedback whether good or bad as all comments are constructive in how we shape future writing.

Should you want to take up writing yourself I encourage you to do it. What have you to loose? It really doesn’t cost anything other than your time and the price of a computer. Don’t expect a mad rush or lots of money, that will not happen. Do expect lots of challenges, lots of new people in your life via the social networks, and a means to be imaginative and expressive and show the world your very own creations.

Leave a Reply

