Review of Desolate Terrain by Mila A. Ballentine

 

A book worthy of Harlequin Intrigue!

Book trailer photo

RATING: A+

Living in the quiet town of Chesapeake, Nevada had a way of making residents feel safe. Sadly, an atmosphere that took years to build is shattered overnight and their beloved town is thrown into the spotlight. Deputy Constance Stone and Sheriff Harper Collins are entrusted with the task of resolving the matter and together they set out to solve a crime.

The situation deteriorates when a series of crimes, including murder, rock the town. Opportunities unfold for Constance, but it could not come at a worse time. She teams up with an unlikely ally. Despite their differences, the pair combine their skills and their partnership aids in Constance’s pursuit to uncover the criminals responsible for terrorizing their picturesque town.

Even though I mentioned what I thought about the cover when I participated in the cover reveal, I will say again that I absolutely love it. Even though it is not how I pictured Constance, I think it perfectly conveys the plot of the story.

As for the story, I enjoyed it. I thought it was well-written, had wonderful description, and kept me captivated during every minute. Every second of the story felt like it was happening to me. I was sucked in from the very first page. This is the genre that this author belongs in. This is her best book to date! I hope we see a sequel one day, about Constance’s sister, Claire. Maybe even a third about their mother? This reader can only hope!

award

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

