Interview of Author C.M Doporto

bio photo

Thank you for joining me in the Insane Asylum… I mean, laboratory… today. Why don’t we start by telling the readers a little about you?

I live in the great state of Texas with my husband and son. I’m a fourth generation Mexican American and have the typical ‘large Hispanic family’ with all of them, including my husband’s family, living in the same metropolitan area. It’s nice for cookouts and holidays but can also be tiring at times. We have an adorable Chihuahua, a blaring loud Mexican Redhead Parrot and several quiet fish.

I earned my Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism from The University of Texas at Arlington and worked briefly in the area of Public Relations and Advertising. I then pursued a career in the field of Human Resources and returned to school and earned my Master of Art’s Degree in Organizational Development from Dallas Baptist University. I love to learn and consider myself a lifelong learner, eager to gain knowledge and achieve my goals.

I write Young Adult and New Adult Sci-Fi/Urban Fantasy stories about ordinary women who do extraordinary things, become a heroine, and find love along the way.

When and why did you start writing?

I started writing fiction about four years ago. Since college, I had always written from a business perspective but had never ventured into creative writing until I found myself burned out with my day job. Creative fiction writing provided an outlet for me to get away from the daily nuances of a stressful job and I found myself enjoying it more and more.

Who is your favorite author and why?

 My favorite author is probably Amanda Hocking. I love her voice and the stories she writes. She’s an inspiration for me because she started out as a self-published author before landing a major deal with St. Martin’s Press.

 Do you feel that Amanda Hocking inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after her?

I think she has to a certain extent. I have definitely studied her dialogue and how she shows emotion in her characters to learn how to be a better writer.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

 I guess what most authors hope for: to have my books in the hands of as many readers as possible and hear how much they like the stories.

Traditional or self-publishing and why?

 I’m self-published currently. I didn’t plan to start out this way but after self-publishing The Eslites (I did it to get my name out there and to gain readers while I worked on submitting Element to agents and editors) and seeing how well it did and talking to a few Indie author friends, I decided to go that route.

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.Elements 1 853x1333

Element, Part 1 is an upper Young Adult/New Adult Science Fiction Romance that is about Natalie Vega, a college freshman, who offers to be a test patient for several vitamins and supplements. She immediately starts going through several physical changes and eventually ends up interning at the company, Kronberg Laboratories. When she runs into her former high school crush, Ryan Garrett, she is unaware of the life altering affects he will have on her.

I think readers will be drawn to Natalie because she’s down to earth, smart, a little nerdy, but also naïve about the major life changes she’s encountering and doesn’t exactly know how to deal with it. As for Ryan, I know readers may think he sounds like the typical hero, perfect to a T, but when they read Part 2 they will see that’s not necessarily true. Overall, Ryan is the guy any girl hopes to meet and bring home to meet her parents.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

That’s easy. Music helps draw out emotion in me and helps me write more creatively. I make a playlist for every book I write. The first five songs for Element, Part 1 are:

“We Are Never Getting Back Together” by Taylor Swift

“Wide Away” by Katy Perry

“Need In Me” by Danny Dove and Steve Smart featuring Amanda Wilson

“Hot Summer Night” by Dave Tavarè

“Call Me Maybe” by Here’s My Number

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

I enjoy going to the movies with my husband and son. I’m kind of a nerd myself; I love Star Wars, Star Trek, Lord of The Rings, and any superhero movie. We also love vacationing at the beach. For fun, when I have time, I like to sew our Halloween costumes and do floral arranging. I recently learned how to make jewelry and started making my own author swag! When I have time, I like to play the piano.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

I would love to go to Hawaii with my family.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

That I’m a pretty down to earth person that is outgoing and enjoys meeting people. Don’t hesitate to drop me a line on FB http://facebook.com/cmdoportowriter or Tweet me a message @cm_doporto. I like to hear from readers and I always try and respond back.

Thank you for joining me today and revealing a little bit about you. I hope we didn’t hurt you too much with the torture devices… I mean………….. Well, anyway, thanks!

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

