Interview of Singer/Songwriter Martina Desiree

We are conducting a little different of an experiment in the laboratory today. We are interviewing self-proclaimed singer/songwriter Martina Desiree. Martina, has lived in Maryland all her life. Music is her passion, and not a day goes by when she doesn’t pick up her guitar and play her heart out. She loves writing her own music, because she says it keeps her sane. “Each song I write has a little piece of me, it’s my way of expressing myself.”- Martina Desiree Quote. She is amazing and extremely talented. When I see a new song of hers, I get all giddy inside when I press play. Well, without further ado, I present Martina Desiree!

Just a Girl and Her Guitar Cover

Since you are a musician, let’s start with the obvious question… What is your favorite kind of music? Band? Artist?

Honestly, I love almost all kinds of music! Different genres of music in my opinion, express different emotions. So, my favorite artist’s go across the board from Mumford and sons, to Paramore, Macklemore, The Killers and many more.

That’s great! What inspires you to write and sing your beautiful songs?

The world! What is going on in it in the world in general or personal things that are happening in my life. Most of the time, the best way to express the emotions that I have bundled up inside of me is to write them down in lyrics.

Having an outlet like that is wonderful. That’s one way that you are the same as writers. What made you want to be a singer?

The fact that I love singing! It makes me happy!

It should make you happy. Your voice is beautiful! What kind of music did you listen to as a child and do you think that influences your music now?

I think what most influences my music is my mood and what I want to express. I just have a muse and follow it!

Did you always want to be a singer?

My mom jokes about me being under 9 months old singing my little heart out in Walmart and one of the customers commenting that I was going to grow up to be an opera singer.

IMG_20121020_132931Aw, I can just picture that! Which of your songs do you want people to remember most and why?

My song “How Many Times” because it is a Stop The Abuse Anti-Bullying & Domestic Violence song.

I love that song, it might be one of my favorites. Be a Father to Your Daughter is still my #1 favorite though. What is the best compliment you have gotten from a fan?

Hmmm, well it is always very flattering when someone says they loved my music but my favorite is when someone says that my songs were meaningful and powerful to them.

That’s why “Be a Father to Your Daughter” is my favorite. Besides singing or playing instruments, what is one of your other hobbies?

Art! I love art so much! I haven’t explored all art mediums yet, but I love Acrylics and I am working on a life size clay portrait sculpture right now! (First one ever!)

That sounds fascinating! I am an artist as well (see image posted below). What do you think is the most important piece of advice for singers?

Do it! If you love rocking out in the shower and have that muse, why not continue doing something you love?

421693_352496828123078_1462158755_n

What was the first song you ever performed in front of someone… If you can remember.

I was three years old and sang at a church talent show.

This next one was a fan asked question. Where do you compose your songs? Are there certain things you need to have around you when composing?

Anywhere and nothing! I have written songs in my house, sitting down all quiet, but I have also been at a loud dance party and gotten completely inspired so I wrote down lyrics on a napkin! Haha!

BONUS QUESTION: Coke or Pepsi? Coke

Hear more here: http://www.youtube.com/user/martinadesireemusic/videos?view=0

She even does covers:

Thank you so much for being my guest, Martina, and thank you for sharing your natural and beautiful talent with the world.

~Genevieve~

5 thoughts on “Interview of Singer/Songwriter Martina Desiree

Leave a Reply

