Interview of Author Krystal Shannan

KrystalShannanHeadShot

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?
Just a little about me…. Well, I was born, raised, and currently live in TEXAS. I am married to a wonderful man who supports my dream of writing and allows me to spend many evening and weekend hours glued to my laptop. During the day I moonlight as an elementary music teacher. In addition to a doting husband, a young daughter is also part of the picture and keeps us both hopping! An ornery little Welsh Corgi completes our household. I’m also a member of RWA and my local chapter DARA.

Wow, busy woman! I was born in Texas as well, but we moved right after I was born. When and why did you start writing?
Well, I’ve been writing since…probably, middle school. But, I finally pushed myself out of my comfort zone and published my first book in October 2012. Since then it’s been a whirlwind. I have published three titles myself and sold two.
Why do I write…it’s like asking me why do I breathe. I have always needed to write. It’s cathartic for me, too. I’ve always had stories in my head and characters talking to me. The only way to get them to stop is to write their story…of course, then new ones continue to pop up. So I guess the cycle never really ends, but at least when I write, some of them take a break, lol. I’m happier when I write, too.

Who is your favorite author and why?
Again, with the really hard questions…I really enjoy reading Kallypso Masters. There’s something in her characters and what they experience that just really clicks with me. Plus she really knows how to create some HOT alpha males and anyone who knows me know I have to have HOT alphas, LOL. But my favorite book is ACHERON, by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I haven’t read a lot of her other books. But I’ve read that one nearly a dozen times. Again, the intensity of the book is what really draws me in and she does an excellent job with intensity. Don’t get me wrong, I read lots of lighter, humorous romance, romantic suspense, etc, but my real passion does lie with the authors that just wrench your heart out for their characters.

That’s great. I’ll have to pick up some of those books. Do you feel that Master & Kenyon inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her? I don’t think so, I mean, I do like to torture my characters to some extent, but I really like a touch of humor and snark in my writing. Which both authors do have, but I don’t think I model after either of them in particular. Masters is a relatively new Indie author and Kenyon has been around for quite sometime. But, I do think there are things to learn from both.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?
I mostly want to share my stories with people and earn a living at it. Right now, I work a 40hr a week full time job as a teacher and I try to write. It’s tough. I look forward to the day when my writing will replace my teaching income and I can do it full time instead.

I think we all look forward to that day. Traditional or self publishing and why?
I’m am good with both. I think there are pros and cons to both and I think each individual author should have a business plan and know what they want from the business and have a plan to get there. I don’t see myself traditionally published, I really like the versatility self publishing offers and I learn a lot working with the editors at the small presses where I’ve sold. I plan to continue doing both.

findinghopefinalTell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.
My most recent book is FINDING HOPE. The sequel to OPEN HOUSE. Both are from my Pool of Souls series that is centered around the Titan Goddess Aphrodite and her love/hate affair with Ares. She is a match-maker and each book focuses on a new pair of human souls that she is trying to match. I love all my characters and would ask that you form your own opinions, LOL.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?
Ooooh, good question…
1)      Kellie Pickler’s “Somebody to Love Me”
2)      Avril Lavigne’s “Keep Holding On”
3)      Sara Evans’ “I Could Not Ask for More”
4)      Carrie Underwood’s “Nobody Ever Told You”
5)      Carrie Underwood’s “Ever Ever After” (I love Disney!)

Woot! Country! I’m so glad to hear that you like country music. Maybe we’re kindred spirits lol. Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?
Cooking! I love to cook, bake, food in general is awesome, LOL.

Again, something we have in common! What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?
Visiting Greece!

Greece Mykonos

Get to it, Woman! Finally, what else would you like readers to know?
Please be sure to sign up for my newsletter HERE so you don’t miss my giveaways and announcements! Oh, and OPEN HOUSE: Pool of Souls Book 1 is free at most eRetailers!

~Genevieve~

One thought on “Interview of Author Krystal Shannan

Leave a Reply

