Interview of Author C.N Lesley

517R5PJ2UjL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

 

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

I live in Central Alberta with my husband and two cats. Our three daughters are nearby. My day job used to be reporting editor for a local newspaper, but the publication folded after funding was cut. Since then I have been working on my books.

 

When and why did you start writing?

I guess I started to love written words in grade school, but never really wrote anything until I was a stay home mom with three girls of five and under. How shall I put this? Barney the dinosaur isn’t intellectually stimulating, but the kids loved that show. I started writing in part to zone out this program. The other reason was I am an avid reader and I had just finished a book I did not enjoy. I could see what was wrong with it and it irritated the heck out of me, so I thought I would give it a whirl. That first book is safely stowed away in some dark place reserved for the truly terrible. It did serve the purpose of clarifying what was good and bad, so not wasted time.

 

Who is your favorite author and why?

Frank Herbert, with his Dune books, or at least the first few. Dune was my first introduction to science fiction and I fell in love with the genre. I still have my first copy of the book. It is more or less in one piece after multiple rereads. What I love about Herbert is the way a person can keep going back and come across something they hadn’t noticed on previous reads.

 

Do you feel that Frank Herbert inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

I was inspired by Dune to become a reader of science fiction and then found Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, which began my love of fantasy. No, I don’t believe my work is modeled after either of them. I deeply admire what they did and the way they did it, but my stuff is about my worlds and characters. In a nutshell, Dune is about taking on the mantle of power despite appalling circumstances. Lord of the Rings is about a quest to destroy something so powerful that it would end civilization if it returned to its master. Darkspire Reaches is about finding acceptance and accepting what cannot be changed, despite the fearful nature of the discovery and the impact it could have on a budding relationship.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

I would like to share my characters and my worlds with others. My books are my other babies and I want them to grow up and find their place.

Traditional or self publishing and why?

Traditional with a small press publisher. Why? I guess I like being around others and having their support. I enjoy the perks, such as extra web exposure, editorial, the marketing materials, and my cover. I adore my cover.

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

I shall cheat a little and give you a quote from my publishers. From Kristell Ink

Darkspire Reaches is a dark romantic fantasy, richly told and with characters so real, you cry for them. C N Lesley is masterful. This is for lovers of Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Sherrilyn Kenyon and such like. I guess my characters are alive for me and I see their world through their eyes.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

 

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

Painting watercolors when I get time. Also taking photographs.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

It isn’t a where, it is a when. I would like to travel to exotic locations in a period of time when there was no strife and a person could relax and enjoy themselves. I think the ideal would be between 1923 and 1928 and I would have to travel first class. I suppose I have watched too many Agatha Christy movies. Grins. I would also like to skip into the future and take a trip out to Mars, but not if I had be be cooped up in a spaceship for years to get there and there was no return ticket.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

My next book to be released will be a Science Fantasy in November. Yes, it is cross genre and perhaps this is where my early reading is reflected, although not in the subject matter. Years back, a friend, who has gone on to become a NYT bestseller, said in a review on a work shop, “You are the only one who can put scales and gills on (Name Redacted) and get away with it”. So a little clue there. Yes, there are amphibious folk, and then there are those that live on the surface world … and those ones who are unseen manipulators. I will post a larger snippet on my website nearer the time of release. And yes, I am planning out a sequel to Darkspire Reaches. As it isn’t more than a few ideas at the moment, I have no idea of the release. Thanks very much for hosting me!

Thank you for being a guest!

http://www.amazon.com/Darkspire-Reaches-C-N-Lesley/dp/1909374172/ref=pd_rhf_ee_p_img_3_GY7X

http://cnlesley.com/darkspire-reaches/

http://www.kristell-ink.com/future-releases/darkspire-reaches/

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17569863-darkspire-reaches

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

