Review of Kitchen Affairs by Brooke Cumberland

While this book needed some improvement in execution, I enjoyed the story concept.

17725118

RATING: B

First of all, let me just say that the cover is sexy! Okay, with that out of the way, I’ll get to the review. Some of the reviewers on other websites said that they didn’t enjoy the fact that the main character fell for two guys, but I’m here to tell you all that it is physically and emotionally possible to fall in love with two guys at the same time. As much as we’d like to believe that there is only one perfect person out there for all of us, and often times that is the case, we as humans are equipped to love and love strongly. But, I digress. I enjoyed the struggle that Molly endured and the fight she had with her feelings. It was realistic and made me more invested in the outcome.

I was having a difficult time reading the book at some parts, because it slipped between past and present tense and there were quite a few moments when editing was lacking. However, the characters were so enduring that I was able to overlook that after the first chapter. I especially loved Molly’s gay best friend, Michael, and her daughter; that little girl was so absolutely adorable!

While I felt that we started in the middle of the story, I was pleased with the way the author elaborated on the content through out the pages and the way she progressed the story. A few scenes could have standed to be fleshed out a little more in description and detail, but overall I enjoyed reading it.

I hope that wasn’t too harsh…

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

