Interview of Author J.L McCoy

J.L McCoy is the author of four Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance books. They are called the Sky Morrison Vampire Series. Please help me welcome her to the laboratory.

IMG_3699[1]

 

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

My name is Jennifer and I live in Austin, Texas. I primarily write Adult Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance but I’m also working on my first Contemporary Romance novel and hope to have it out by late 2013. Right now I have 4 books published in my Skye Morrison Vampire Series. In my spare time I love to listen to music, go to concerts, watch movies, travel, and feed my addiction to body art.

blood_of_son-cover-reducedsize[1]When and why did you start writing?

 I began Blood of the Son (SMVS,#1) in March of 2011 and published it in March of 2012.  To be honest, my mother had been bugging me for about a year prior to write a book. She knew I was a serious reader and thought I’d make a good writer. So, I tried it out and found that I absolutely loved it. I haven’t looked back since.

Who is your favorite author and why?

That is such a hard question to answer. Picking a favorite author, to me, would be like picking your favorite pet, family member, or child. You love them all equally, you know?  I do have a few that have caught my attention recently and can’t seem to get enough of. Kristen Ashley does great alpha bad boys and I love that. Dicey Grenor has an awesome adult vampire series out (The Narcoleptic Vampire Series) that I’m really enjoying. I love her humor. And another is Katie Salidas. I’ve been a huge fan of her Immortalis Vampire Series for a while but she has a few other books out too.

Do you feel that these authors inspired your writing?

Since I can’t really pick a favorite author, I can tell you instead who has been my biggest inspiration and that is Charlaine Harris. I love her writing style and the detail she goes into. I’ve read all her books and have loved each one. I  heard early on that our writing styles were somewhat similar and it was the most amazing compliment I’ve ever gotten, even if the person didn’t exactly mean it as such. Any day that you are compared to a famous author is a total win in my book. 😉

Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?lob[1]

I don’t think I actively set out to model my writing after anyone in particular. I just wrote it as the story flowed in my head.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

I’ve been blessed enough to have already accomplished my goal in being an author and that was to write full-time from home and to make a decent living out of it.  I hope that I can continue for years to come because it isn’t just a job for me, it’s a passion. I absolutely love what I do.

 

Traditional or self publishing and why?

I personally think that the tide is slowly turning in the publishing world. Indie was once considered a “bad word” in publishing but now, Indie artists are starting to get the recognition they deserve. Just because an author is Independent, it doesn’t mean they are bad writers. Most of the writers I love are self-published.

For me, at this time, self-publishing  is the way to go. It affords me the greatest control of my work and offers the highest profits. I wouldn’t be opposed to talking with traditional publishers about picking up the print rights, if the offer was right, but I’d want to maintain total control of the digital rights.

The_Original_Sin_Cover_GOOD[1]Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

My latest book is Legacy of Blood (book #4 in the Skye Morrison Vampire Series).  A fan favorite character is Archer Rhys, owner of The Mausoleum night club and resident alpha male. He’s sexy, fierce, but has this hidden sweet side. The early series sexual tension between Archer and Skye Morrison is pretty hot. Who doesn’t like a little hot alpha bad boy action? And, speaking of Skye, she is sassy, opinionated, strong, loyal, and protective. Her character is also flawed and she definitely has her issues. I think fans can relate to her.

 

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

Godsmack’s Awake

Halestorm’s Break In

Godsmack’s I Stand Alone

The Cure’s Just Like Heaven

Mazzy Starr’s Fade Into You

The Rilling Stones’ Wild Horses

 

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

I love watching movies and singing karaoke. Painting, devouring good sushi, and mani/pedis with my girls are also high up on my list. 😉

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?SOTFcover[1]

I’m dying to visit the Louvre in Paris. Hoping that trip is not too far off in my future.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know? 

That I really appreciate the support I’ve received this last year. You guys have been absolutely amazing, bloggers and readers alike. I couldn’t do this without you guys and I adore each of you. Thank you taking the time to read this interview and for allowing me to hopefully entertain you with my books. Xo!

BSOLTourButton

Thank you for joining us in the laboratory!

host

~Genevieve~

One thought on “Interview of Author J.L McCoy

Leave a Reply

