Interview of Author Heidi Acosta

Heidi Acosta was born on Long Island, New York. Moving around a lot when she was younger, she lived in New York, Arizona, New York (again), Washington, Georgia, and Florida in that order. Each one offered her something special, but she will always consider New York her home.

She started writing as soon as she could spell. Writing was a form of therapy for her; no matter what was happing in her life she could escape it through writing. Most of my early work stared her as a princess who escaped with her horse. She was young at that time so no prince charming (boys where yucky).

Her mother taught me to read at the age of three giving her Laura Engle Wilder’s book Little House in the Big Woods; thus beginning her love affair with literature.

She now resides in Florida with her husband, very active daughter, one hyper Chihuahua, two sweet cats, and one very fat moody cat.

Please join me in welcoming Heidi!

So, Heidi, why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?Heidi

I am a mother, wife, sister, writer, zumba newbie, and book devourer.

 

When and why did you start writing?

I have always loved to write ever since I can remember, but it wasn’t until last year that I decided to pursue it as a career.

 

Wow, so this is all sort of new to you still. Who is your favorite author and why?

OMG! There are so many and they change every time I read a new book. I would have to say right now my favorite is Jessica Sorensen. She is a wonderful writer and a successful indie author and I admire that about her.

 

Do you feel that any authors inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

There are too many authors to name that inspired my writing, every book that I have ever read and fell in love with inspired me in some way. I am sure that some of my writing style is modeled after them, and I can only hope to be as talented.

 

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

Ultimately, I would like to be able to support myself with my writing. But more than that I want my stories to mean something to the reader. I want them to love the characters as much as I do and to me that is priceless.

 

Traditional or self-publishing and why?

Right now I am self-publishing, but I am also looking into Traditional. I think both have their ups and downs.

 

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.Barbie Girl

My most recent book is Barbie World. It is the second installment in the Baby Doll series coming out June 15 2013. You should love the characters because they stay true to themselves. I think people will fall in love with Dylan and Barbie all over again. Dylan especially, he has been through a lot with Barbie and it has helped him grow up. This time he is going to have to work hard to get her attention. Barbie World is filled with heart break, friendship, love, and some great laugh out loud Third moments.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

The first five songs on the Barbie World playlist.

1. This year’s loving by David Gray

2. Skyscraper by Demi Lovato

 3. Shattered by O.A.R

 4. Stay by Rihanna
5. I almost do by Taylor Swift

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

I love to spend time with my daughter. We like to watch movies, go shopping, and go to the beach. I also love to travel, so anytime there is an opportunity for that I take it.

 

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

Europe, I have not been and I want to go so bad. I would love to go for a month and back pack around Europe.

 

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

Barbie World picks up where Barbie Girl ended, so I think they are going to be excited to jump right back into Barbie’s world.

Thank you for being here! I wish you the best of luck with your books.

For you readers, here are the links to Heidi’s book and her website:

Website: http://www.Authorheidiacosta.blogspot.com

FACEBOOK LINK: http://www.facebook.com/Authorheidiacosta

TWITTER HANDLE: https://twitter.com/Barbiegirlnovel

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Barbie-Girl-Baby-Series-ebook/dp/B00A1GHSCG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1365096597&sr=1-1&keywords=barbie+girl+by+heidi+acosta

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/barbie-girl-heidi-acosta/1113843355?ean=2940015777857

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

