Interview with Jennifer Martinez

We have the beautiful and talented, Jennifer Martinez with us today. Please help me welcome her.

WITS BT Banner

Author Bio:

One day while slaving away at her monotonous day job, Jennifer Martinez found her true calling. Like a firefly in the night, the pages called to her. Once she caught the bug there was no stopping it. Her fingers flew furiously across the keyboard winding tales of love, mystery and anger. She snapped out of her reverie to find herself still behind the desk but at least she knew who she was… Author Jennifer Martinez.

487775070__mg_3038

I like to think of myself as a beautiful conundrum. When I am not writing, I can be found surrounded by my amazing family and 4 dogs or volunteering at a local animal rescue. I love who I am and don’t mind at all when I get strange looks from people. I am a tattoo covered, child and animal lover who looks forward to destroying peoples preconceived notions of what “someone like me” would be interested in. You only live life once… you may as well make it interesting.

I love to get lost in a good book and hope that everyone will get lost in mine.

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

I’m a 27 year old “domestic engineer” lol. I am blessed with the ability to stay home and work on my writing and blogging all day. Its pretty nice actually. I have 4 dogs and a hubs. My newest fur baby is Sirius Black and he is the light of my life.. I live in Florida and have recently discovered that I can in fact grow plants.. I’m pretty excited about that. I usually kill anything plant related.

Ha! I love the name. When and why did you start writing?

I started writing about 6 months ago. It kinda came out of no where. I’ve been an avid reader forever and finally one day at lunch (when I had a real job) I just started writing. I haven’t looked back since.

That’s fantastic! Who is your favorite author and why?

Such a loaded question… Fav. Playwright: Shakespeare, Fav. Poet: Edgar Allen Poe, Fav. Non-fiction: WEB Du Bois, Fav. Paranormal: Anne Rice, Fav. NA: Jessica Sorensen, Fav. Cont. Rom.: CM Stunich (she is also my mentor so yea… I pretty much fan stalk her) Fav. Epic Fantasy: James Fuller, Fav. Series: JK Rowling.

Wow, we have a lot of the same ones. Do you feel that all those people inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

I do. I mean I think that they all have certain reasons they are my favs and that if I can take what makes them my fav and do it myself then I can become someone elses… I don’t necessarily think I model after any of them but I know my writing habits (how much I write, when I write) are a lot like CM..

C.M is fantastic, isn’t she? What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

I hope to help somebody escape the real world. When people read my books I want them lost in a new place where the real world no longer matters.

Traditional or self publishing and why?

Self pub for the win! As my husband would say, I am pig headed and stubborn as an ox. I HATE people telling me when and what I can do. That is why I will forever be a self Pubber.

I know that feeling. Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

WITSfullcover

My newest release is called Written in the Stars. It is a story about a girl named Mack who goes through some pretty rough live changing crap. She doesn’t let it hold her down and she always finds a way to push through and become a better person because of it.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

Actually that is a different post on the tour 😉 lol.

Definitely Pink’s Just Give Me a Reason,

NEEDTOBREATHE-Drive,

Taylor Swift – Fairy Tale,

Bruno Mars – If I was your man,

Jason Aldean – Laughed until We Cried

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

Performing. My degree is in Theatre Performance and I love the stage! I guess it all stems from the same place of helping

People forget but I love the ability to make people laugh and just act like a fool. Its taken me some really amazing places in my life that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

Free dive with great white sharks in South Africa. They are totally misunderstood creatures and I think they get a bad wrap. I love them.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

I love hearing from you, and as long as you aren’t mean I like hearing about what you didn’t like.. I mean please don’t go posting your 10 things I hated about your book on amazon or anything but send me an email say hey I would have liked this better… If you never receive any criticism you never learn how to improve.

Thank you for being my guest in the laboratory today, Jennifer. I wish you the best of luck with your book!

Website: http://jmartinezauthor.com

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

