Interview of Author Justin Osborne

Well, this is an unusual occurrence in the laboratory! Today, we have a male author as our guest. Justin Osborne is the author of the book called Epic: Legacy and we’re going to share his deepest darkest secrets today. Please help me welcome Justin!

The Book.

Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

Not much to say, really…I’m originally from Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada and I met my wife Kathy in 1997, moved out to California and I’m still here., Haha.

When and why did you start writing?

I dabbled a bit in High School and didn’t do much else until about a year and a half ago. My current job leaves me with a LOT of down time and the ideas kept piling up, and the only way to clear space was to write them down, so I bought some composition books and hand-wrote the first draft of EPIC: Legacy out of sheer boredom.

Who is your favorite author and why?

Stephen King, because he delivers the total package. He may be known primarily as a ‘Horror’ writer, but the fact of the matter is, the man can write anything. He can scare you, make you laugh, excite you and even get you a little misty, often in the same story.

Do you feel that [insert favorite author here] inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

He definitely inspired me to write, I’ve been reading him almost as long as I’ve been able to read. I’d like to think my writing is similar to his, but I’ll leave that opinion up to the readers, some of which have made that comparison. So…possibly? Haha

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

Utter and complete world domination. I keed, I keed…I’d like to reach as many readers as possible and maybe, just maybe be able to live comfortably with no worries.

Traditional or self publishing and why?

At one point before EPIC: Legacy was finished, I definitely would have said Traditional. I believed that Self-Publishing was the easy way out. I mean if just anybody could do it, where was the legitimacy? So I tried the traditional route for a while and realised just how hard it was to ‘break through’, so to speak, so I looked into self-publishing with Createspace and Kindle Direct and discovered that I was wrong. There were many ‘indies’ that were actually good and worthy of being published, but agents are too chickenshit to take a chance these days, so these authors get left to the wayside, while total and complete crap gets published by the big guys and made into crappy movies. I’ll be merciful to the Twilight fans and not mention…crap, I guess I just did. Oops! I’m glad you didn’t bring up Vanity Presses, that’s a whole different story…

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

EPIC: Exodus is the second chapter of the EPIC series. It’s the story of Deacon McTaggart’s journey from High School graduate to legendary hero like his great-uncle before him. While primarily of the Fantasy genre, the series contains elements of various other genres, you will laugh, you may cry, you will be thrilled and chilled. It has a little bit of everything for everybody. I won’t tell people whether they should love or hate any of the characters, that’s up to them to decide. But I will say that they all have their quirks, even the villains are not your typical baddies, some have said that the main villain, Ubaru’ud is actually likable in some ways. The other antagonist, Mazzariah may appear to be ”bad’ on the surface as he’s opposed to the actions of Deacon and his friends, but what he does, he does for the survival of his people, the Elfkin.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

I’d like to consider ‘Crystallize’ by Lindsey Stirling as EPIC: Legacy’s Unofficial theme song, as it contains both classical and modern elements that suit the book to a tee. As for the other’s, it’s really hard to narrow down to a few. Deacon plays an acoustic guitar and is a fan of classic rock, so any number of classic rock songs would fit the ‘feel’ of the story, there are also many classic rock references in the story. An interesting thing to mention is the chapter titles in both books are song titles from various genres of the rock category and a few that aren’t. While the lyrics themselves don’t necessarily have a connection to each chapter, the titles definitely do.

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

Living in a small town, entertainment is frustratingly hard to come by. So if I’m not working, writing or reading, I have a special relationship with my PS3.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

Scotland, where some of EPIC: Legacy takes place.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

Besides the EPIC series, I also have written four ‘Horror’ short stories that will be included in an upcoming collection entitled ‘Antholocaust.’ But before that, I’m currently working on a children’s book of all things per a request from my youngest son, Drayven. Tulliver The Gnome tells the story of a cranky Gnome tasked with solving the mystery of how and why his fellow Gnomes are being turned into lawn ornaments.

Thank you so much for being here, Justin. Best of luck with your book!

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

