Interview of the Amazing Author Jamallah Bergman

Today, we have Jamallah Bergman’s beautiful self under the microscope. We’re going to study this specimen and pick apart her layers to discover her ultimate awesomeness. Jamallah is the author of books such as The Biker Next Door, The Lady of Gladstone Manor, and more! Her most recent release is called The Admission and the beautiful cover (seen below) makes me want to read it desperately!

TheAdmission_MED

Links to book:

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/The-Admission-ebook/dp/B00C11J188/ref=la_B006HT16WY_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1366133838&sr=1-2

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Admission-ebook/dp/B00C11J188%3FSubscriptionId%3D0V4JT1H35KWYMF0SKQR2%26tag%3Dnovelrank-21%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB00C11J188

ARE: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-theadmission-1148163-148.html

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-admission-jamallah-bergman/1114921620?ean=2940016390833

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/the-admission

 

 Please help me welcome Jamallah to the laboratory!

 

Good Morning, Beautiful! Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

Well my name is Jamallah Bergman and I am a single mother of a teenager. I was born in Jamaica Queens but, I reside in Atlanta GA. I enjoy making and meeting new people from other fellow authors to readers as well. You can say I am a very pleasant person to be around and I get along with just about anybody I come in contact with. So if you are a friend of mine, you know you’ll have a friend for life.

 

And, an amazing friend you are. When and why did you start writing?

 Well I’ve always been writing since I was young, but my writing didn’t start to really mature until I did. At one time I had a page up with some4179672 of my short stories on it, I had friends of mine read them and they loved them so much they thought I should write something more. Well I ended up writing a story that I had tried for years to get out but no one would take it. Then a fellow writer of mine, named Mike Arsuaga, who I had met on a website for writers, told me about Secret Cravings Publishing and that they would be willing to look over my work. Well a couple of weeks after I sent them my work, I got a contract from them and I’ve been with the publisher since 2011.

 

That’s amazing! Congratulations. Not all authors get that lucky. Speaking of authors, who is your favorite author and why?

I would have to say my favorite author would have to be J.R. Ward. A friend of mine got me hooked on her books about the Brotherhood and I was like, “Oh my God, where have you been all my life?” LOL. Honestly, her books make you feel like you are sitting back in some corner of a room and watching everything unfold. I can visualize every character and every emotion that they go through. It’s an amazing series.

 

I haven’t read her books yet, but I really want to. They will be first on my list the next time I take the trip to the library. Do you feel that J.R. Ward inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

Well I can say for a FACT that I can’t hold a candle up against J.R. because she is one of a kind in her work. All I know is that I can try and strive to do my best in my work and as I work on each book, I hope that they will get better with the next one. I honestly don’t model my writing like hers; hers is totally different than how I write.

 

2940013963542_p0_v1_s260x420We’re all unique in our writing, but that doesn’t mean you couldn’t hold a candle to her some day. What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

It’s a huge learning process really but it’s something that even as I learn how to make my work better and better and more appealing to those that read it, I hope to be able to strive to be the best in my craft.

 

I’m sure you will always improve; we all do. Traditional or self-publishing and why?

Traditional for now, I work for Secret Cravings Publishing. But I have always wanted to try and do self-publishing. I think it’s a bit easier to go with someone but I got lucky and had heard about SCP by a friend.

 

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

My latest book is called “The Admission” (cover seen above). I based this book from one of my favorite movies “The Heiress” which starred Olivia de Havilland and Montgomery Cliff. The story itself is a great one and I know that everyone will love Cathy and Rodrigo’s story. It’s a great love story as well as a story of self-discovery as well as, what the title suggest, admission. I have to admit that out of all of my stories I’ve written, by far, this one was the most emotional. I know that there will be at least two characters in this book that people will hate and loathe entirely because of the actions they make within the story. I can say one in particular, if they hadn’t been a character and an actual person, I would have put a hit out on the person for all the trouble and pain they caused.

 

Sounds great! If your book had a soundtrack, what are the first 5 songs you would include?

1. No Ordinary Love-Sade

2. Kiss of Life-Sade

3. You Don’t Have to Hurt No More-Mint Condition

4. Comforter-Shai

5. You Send Me Swinging- Mint Condition

 

 

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

Well I enjoy going out to some of the thrift stores. I like to collect cookbooks and Cobalt Blue glass items. Plus I enjoy a good walk as well as watching old movies for I am a HUGE old movie buff.

 

Me too! My favorite is Dr. Zhivago. What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put atspecial-kind-woman-jamallah-bergman-paperback-cover-art #1 on your bucket list?

I want to go to the La Tomatina festival in Bunol Spain. Every year they have this festival where they have probably the hugest food fight imaginable. They throw tomatoes and just have fun in all of that tomatoness, lol, I know that’s not a word but still. The idea of getting into a huge food fight like that would be AWESOME in my book. If I can go there, I’d be happy to have said when I was old and grey that I went to one of the biggest food fights ever.

 

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

Well I would like to say like I’ve already said before, I really enjoy getting to know my fans as well as make new friends. So if you did add me to your friend’s list, you will make a friend for life.

Also I will have a book coming out in May called “Constant Surprises”. It’s the 2nd book in the “Wrong Number Series”. If those who read my 1st book in the series, “Sorry….Wrong Number” (cover seen below), they will remember Roy Fulton. Well this story is Roy’s story and will continue on with when he heads home at last and he will find out some very interesting things.

SorryWrongNumber_MED

Thank you so much for being a guest today, Jamallah! I was so happy and honored to have you. Wait, did that sound creepy? Oh well, lol. You are a great writer and I wish you the best of luck on your next book!

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

