Interview with Author Sydney Katt

Please help me welcome the beautiful, Sydney Katt to the laboratory!

Framed HeadshotSydney Katt has been writing books for as long as she could string words into sentences. Today, her books are more complex and feature romance, murder and mayhem, all subjects her grade school teachers frowned upon.

Happily married since before the beginning of time, Sydney and her husband live in the Dallas area, where three demanding cats rule their lives. When they aren’t slaying video game dragons, the five of them keep a watchful eye for the first signs of the Zombie Apocalypse.

Her first book, Agents of Deceit, is out now and her second one, The Shattered Alliance, comes out in May! 

Agents_of_Deceit_Cover_for_Kindle

Welcome to the lab, Sydney. Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

Let’s see…I spend my days writing content for small to medium size business clients and my nights writing fiction. I’ve been married for just shy of 13 years and we have epic video game marathons around the holidays. I can’t sing even a little, but I can kick some serious butt when given the Rock Band microphone. I’ve also been known to spend entire weekends watching documentaries. You know, when the History channel remembers to talk about history.

That sounds like so much fun; Rock Band, not documentaries, lol. When and why did you start writing?

I don’t actually remember the first time I started writing, but I do remember the first book I wrote. I was eight. It was terrible. Seriously. Spikes lowering from the ceiling to kill people for absolutely no reason. The second book wasn’t much better. I was 12. There were lots of explosions. Again, no real reason. I’ve since figured out the whole “having a plot” thing. I guess I write because I have stories stuck in my head. I have to tell them or the characters just keep on parading around up there. It’s obnoxious. I wish I was trying to educate people or further some philosophical goal, but…it’s selfish. I just want my characters to leave me alone. But they don’t. They all want sequels.

I know that feeling! Who is your favorite author and why?

Edgar Allan Poe. I don’t always understand everything of his I read, but I love it. There’s just something about having a character so bent on revenge that he bricks a person into a wall for no discernible reason that’s awesome to me. I love revenge…in books…far away from my life.

I love him! I recently watched the movie based on him, The Raven, starring John Cusack and I absolutely loved it! I reviewed it on this blog as well. Do you feel that Poe inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

I wish. I think a lot of my inspiration came before I read anything of his. My writing is more of an amalgam of modern suspense writers. If I could figure out a way to incorporate a little more of Poe’s macabre elements into my work without turning into a blatant copy of The Following, I would. In a heartbeat. A telltale heartbeat.

Pun intended there? lol. What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

When it comes to fiction, I really just want to entertain people. When someone tells me they finished my book in a weekend or had trouble putting it down, I consider my work done.

Same here. Do you do traditional or self publishing?

I thought long and hard, but ultimately went the indie publishing route. It just didn’t make good business sense to spend years trying to hit the legacy publishing lottery when it was unlikely that they’d ever put the kind of marketing dollars into me that they put into the Dan Browns and James Patterson’s of the world. Since I was going to have to handle all the marketing, I couldn’t justify giving away control (and a big portion of the royalties) to a publisher. I’m also in a strange predicament with my series. It’s not a perfect fit for the mystery genre, nor is it perfect for the romance genre. I just couldn’t see rewriting an entire series to fit into a particular genre’s mold. Guess I’m a rule-breaker.

I think that’s the way a lot of us Indie Authors feel, but I also know a few people who started out Indie and then got offers from publishers! So, it can happen 🙂 Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

Agents of Deceit is about an FBI agent who has to go undercover to find out if the mysterious women across the hall knows anything about a terrorist attack they believe one of her friends is planning on DFW International Airport. Unfortunately, he’s stuck with a case full of dead ends and a growing attraction to his mark.

I think readers are drawn to Special Agent Jackson Caldwell because of his mountain of flaws. They make him real, but they aren’t so over the top that he becomes wholly unlikable. He has this unshakable sense of right and wrong, of duty, and it never fails to somehow get in his way.

A real hero has his flaws. If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

Ooh…I love this question since I usually do soundtracks for my books anyway. In no particular order, they would be:

1. Dragula by Rob Zombie

2. Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

3. End of Me by Apocalyptica/Gavin Rossdale

4. Frozen by Within Temptation

5. Breakdown by Seether

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

When we aren’t slaying video game dragons, hubby and I try to get to the symphony every chance we get. I’m actually sort of geeking out over the fact that I’m going to get to hear Beethoven’s 5th, 7th and 9th performed live next year.

So, you’re really into music. That’s fantastic! What is the one thing you want to do, or the one play you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

It’s a toss-up. The reasonable part of me wants to spend a month (at least) in Italy taking in all the sights. The lunatic side wants to stand in the center of Stonehenge on a solstice or charter a boat through the Bermuda Triangle and the Dragon Triangle (Bermuda Triangle of the Pacific). You might say I’m a little quirky.

There’s nothing wrong with quirky; especially in this laboratory. We’re nutcases here. Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

You wouldn’t know it from the first few books in the series, but serial killers are sort of my thing. It’s not like I’m one of those weird groupies that sends locks of her hair to serial killers in the slammer or anything, but I do seem to spend an abnormal amount of time reading books about them and watching documentaries about their psychology. I have a few fictional serial killers in development that should make for an interesting read. Also, and this is probably the most important thing I’ve said yet, the correct contraction of the words you and all is y’all, not ya’ll. Remember that. It’ll be on the quiz.

Ha! I love that. I wasn’t aware that was something a lot of people messed up. Thank you so much for being a guest, Sydney! I hope the metals instruments we used on you weren’t too cold or painful. We have a lot in common! You’re even from my birth state of Texas! I hope to see you again in the lab, helping us dissect the next victim… I mean guest.

To connect with Sydney, see the following options:

FACEBOOK LINK: http://www.facebook.com/authorsydneykatt

TWITTER HANDLE: @Sydney_Katt

~Genevieve~

One thought on “Interview with Author Sydney Katt

Leave a Reply

