Review of A Princess of Mars & Interview With the Author

A Princess of Mars was intriguing, entertaining, and addicting!

1781842590

RATING: A-

Have you heard of the Disney movie John Carter? If you haven’t, you should check it out. john_carter_movie_poster_3Not only is it an amazing movie, but this book is based on it! John Carter stars in this book and we get to see his awesomeness in a whole new light.

John-Carter-Movie-Pictures

Now, on to the actual review…

COVER DESIGN: Intriguing. The emotion in the woman’s eyes is so strong that it makes me want to get to know what she is thinking.

WHAT I LIKED: Every word of this book pulled me in deeper. There were over 200 pages, but I finished it in a little over 2 hours; that was how addicted I was. I didn’t, and couldn’t, stop until it was finished! From the 1st page until the very last, I was intrigued and pulled in to the story even more. Usually, this would not be a book that interested me- I’d likely pass right over it, because of my personal taste- but these authors have completely converted me!

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE: The only thing that I can even think to write here, is that I felt it went on a little longer than it needed to; but, honestly, that’s small and insignificant to this amazing story!

ADDITIONAL NOTES: I even read the preview at the end of Bebe Balocca’s book, which I hardly ever do, and was extremely intrigued. It definitely caught my attention and it will definitely be going on my to be read list.

That being said, help me welcome the wonderful Bebe Balocca!

Welcome to the laboratory, Bebe! Why don’t we start by telling the folks a little about you?

I live in a town of 450 (give or take a few) with my husband of 18 years and three sons. In my other life, I write for an educational company and an entertainment magazine, but I’m in love with erotic romance. The best gift my husband ever gave me was converting our attic into my cozy office so I could type away.

How nice of him! Speaking of writing, when and why did you start writing?

I’ve always loved reading romances, but during some stressful times in the past decade they’ve been a lifeline. I loved escaping to worlds that were exciting and inventive, where I could be secure in the knowledge that a happily-ever-after was brewing. They gave me hope and happiness when I needed them most. I decided to try my hand at writing romance a couple of years ago and am well and thoroughly hooked on the process.

Who is your favorite author and why?

Wow, that’s tough. I tend to love most whoever I’m “with” at the time. Right now I’m reading ‘Tis: A Memoir by Frank McCourt. not a romance by any stretch, but I am delighted at every turn by his realistic dialogue and the bittersweet relationships in the book. As an all-time fave, I guess I’d say Stephen King. I reliably enjoy his gritty realism and graphic descriptions.

Do you feel that Stephen King inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after him/her?

Yes, in that I want to write books that people enjoy reading. I don’t want to write in an inaccessible way, so that readers slog through dry parts because they feel they have to. I want my writing to be fresh, exciting and captivating on every page.

What else do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

I try to make readers feel intense emotions during my books—I want to them to laugh, cry and get really turned on, too. I also want to craft books that are complex and thought-provoking. I hope that I inspire people to pursue happiness and be kind whenever possible. And I hope that my books help heat up their bedrooms, too.

Traditional or self publishing and why?

I’ve been very happy with the traditional publication route so far. I love having a team of experienced editors on my side, as well as a pool of fellow authors from whom I can draw support.

Tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

“A Princess of Mars” is a Clandestine Classic from Total-e-Bound. That means it’s an out-of-copyright vintage book new scenes and chapters written by me. I had so much fun writing this. I’m a big fan of sci-fi anyway, so I loved the existing novel, and it was a satisfying challenge to try to write in Burroughs’s voice. The plot was perfect for added erotic scenes, too. I loved exploring John Carter’s character (he’s a funny guy, who knew?) and playing around with how love and lovemaking would be different on Mars.

If your book had a soundtrack, what is the first 5 songs you would include?

“Drops of Jupiter” – Train

“Champagne Supernova” – Oasis

“Space Cowboy” – Steve Miller

“Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots” – The Flaming Lips

“Come Sail Away” – Styx

Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite pastime?

I love to play Transformers and Power Rangers with my youngest son, go on walks with my wiener dog, and ride on the back of my husband’s motorcycle.

What is the one thing you want to do, or the one place you want to go, that you would put at #1 on your bucket list?

Gosh, another toughie! The first place that comes to mind is Thailand. My husband has visited, and we have a friend who there. I’d love to visit a place so different from where I am, with such a fascinating history and gorgeous architecture.

Finally, what else would you like readers to know?

I am holding a giveaway for a print copy of A Princess of Mars!

RAFFLECOPTER PRIZE:

Contest ends on April 11th 2013
Thank you, Bebe, for being a wonderful guest in the laboratory! You were a fine specimen!
Be sure to check Bebe, who brands herself as Imaginative Erotic Authoress Extraordinaire, out at the following links:
~Genevieve~
3 thoughts on “Review of A Princess of Mars & Interview With the Author

  1. Pingback: A Princess in Print Giveaway! | Bebe Balocca

Leave a Reply

