Review of the movie Ghost

Ghost, starring Patrick Swayze and Demi Moore, was romantic and entertaining.

MV5BMjAxNzk3NDQ3OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODU3MjE0MQ@@._V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_

RATING: A-

YEAR IT WAS MADE: 1990

LENGTH: 2 HRS. 6 MINS.

In the very beginning of this movie, I was a little worried that this was going to end up being a scary movie, because of the song that was played during the credits. But, as I continued to watch, I realized I was wrong. The movie started slow, but eventually it picked up and I was hooked. Of course, with Patrick Swayze’s gorgeous self on the screen, it was hard not to be hooked; especially in those moments when his beautiful chest was on display.

Patrick+Swayze+png

Being a big believer in ghosts and the after life myself, I was looking out for realism and such. I found this movie to be pretty realistic and believeable when it came to the after life, ghosts, spirits, angels, and demons. I liked that Sam saw his own death, because that’s likely what happens when we die. Also, I liked the way they showed up the innards of things that Sam’s ghost passed through or that passed through him; it made the experience more in his point of view. The only two things about this movie that I thought were unnecessary, were 1: The little “flash” that Sam had right after he had died; it was strange and felt like it was just something they missed during the editing process lol, and 2: The “static” that seemed to resonate from him when he touched objects or people. That was strange. I’m assuming it was supposed to represent that sensation we get when we connect with spirits, but to me it just sounded like a glitch in the audio.

ghost_movie_musical

One big downside in this movie was that, while the actors seemed to have chemistry between them, they seemed a little incompatible somehow. I can’t explain it, but it just felt that way to me.

Now, I’m assuming that you’ve been reading this review and have been wondering: “What about the iconic pottery scene?” Well, I suppose I have to mention it, although I don’t really see why it became so popular to recreate in movies and TV shows. It was sensual, as was expected, but it wasn’t really a major part of the story or anything. Maybe it’s just me, but all I could think was “how messy!”

ghost-the-movie_100180381_s

Lastly, fair warning about the ending… Have a box of tissues handy.

RATINGS BREAKDOWN:

SPECIAL EFFECTS: B+

ACTING: A (WHOOPI GOLDBERG BUMPED IT UP FROM A B TO AN A)tumblr_m1rsahnKQs1qd7ovlo1_500

STORY: A

SOUNDTRACK: A+

BELIEVABILITY: B+

ENJOYABILITY: A

CHARACTERS: B+

QUALITY: I WATCHED IT ON NETFLIX AND THERE WERE A FEW ISSUES SO I HAVE TO GIVE IT A B+

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

