Interview & Giveaway with Hope Welsh

header

Today, we welcome Hope Welsh- author of romance and poetry- with us in the lab. We’re going to put her underneath the microscope and dissect her for your enjoyment. Mwahahaha!

https://www.facebook.com/hopewelshwrites/info

Hope, why don’t you start by telling the folks a little about you?

Well, let’s see… I’m a romance author. I love to write paranormal romance. The main requirement for my books is a happy ending! I like alpha males and feisty women and I’m obsessed with the paranormal. I also have a lot of fun writing very steamy books.

I can relate with writing steamy books. Since you’re obsessed with the paranormal, do you believe in ghosts? And, if you do, do you have any interesting stories to tell us? 

I do believe in ghosts.  I’m sure I had one following me when I lived in Ohio. It seemed to move from house to house with us—turning lights on and off, and it would also turn on water of all things. Not a drip…a flowing stream.

At first, it terrified me, but later, I realized it must just be playing. Never anything harmful at all.

When and why did you start writing?

It’d probably be easier to ask when I didn’t write. I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I wrote a play our school put on when I was 8 and that progressed to my writing poetry and short stories. My teachers encouraged me to write more- and I was hooked. I’ve always enjoyed creating worlds and the people that live in them. I’m a character driven writer, so I always know my characters before I even know the plot.

One of my High School teachers was a big part of me writing as well. Speaking of writing, who is your favorite author and why?

While there are several that I really love, I’d have to say that Sharon Sala is my favorite. She was in a writing group I belonged to years ago- before she sold her first book. She was very supportive of my writing. And, of course, she has excellent books!

51YdvOBWwVL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/Til-Death-Rebel-Ridge-Novels/dp/0778314278/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363959909&sr=8-1&keywords=Sharon+Sala

I have provided a link to her book above. Do you feel that Sharon Sala inspired your writing? Do you feel that your writing is modeled after her?

No, not really. I was writing romance before I ever met Sharon.

That’s great! What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

My main goal when I write is to please the readers. I try to write a story that will let them escape from their life for a few hours and live in mine. Of course, I wouldn’t mind being a New York Times Best- Selling Author- but I’m content with hitting Top 100 lists on Amazon! It’s exciting to know that readers have enjoyed your work.

Speaking of Amazon, do you go traditional or self publishing?

I’ve done both, but I’m currently self published. Two that I have out now are improved editions of books that I’ve had published traditionally in the past. I enjoy the freedom that self publishing allows me. I like the fact that I’m in control of everything from the cover to the inside formatting and price. Most of the publishers price books out of the reach of many readers, so I try to keep my books at or around $2.99.

It’s time to replace your culture with your books and characters; we’ll give you a break from the heat of the microscope. Please, tell us about your most recent book and why we should love or hate your characters.

Currently, I’m really promoting my Hunted Series. While they can be read as stand-alone titles, the stories are all centered in the same world. I’ve created a bit of a different lore for an old tale: Vampires. My vampires are quite different from some you have probably read. My heroes are always Alpha males to the max- and the heroes of Once Forbidden and Once Bitten are definitely no different. They know what the want and aren’t afraid to go after it. My heroines are always quirky and stubborn- when can make sparks fly! I often hear that my characters are what draw readers. They like that my character are life-like, yet still different enough from ‘real life’ to be entertaining.

51d-glGEgVL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004I6DB0I?ie=UTF8&tag=hopwel-20&linkCode=shr&camp=213733&creative=393177&creativeASIN=B004I6DB0I&ref_=pd_sim_kstore_1

514atVLRQFL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008GN212I?ie=UTF8&tag=hopwel-20&linkCode=shr&camp=213733&creative=393177&creativeASIN=B008GN212I&ref_=sr_1_1&s=digital-text&keywords=Once%20Forbidden%20Hope%20Welsh&qid=1343430555&sr=1-1

51+pF3e-c8L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

http://www.amazon.com/Once-Bitten-Hunted-Book-ebook/dp/B008RA8O30/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1

Well, I’m definitely intrigued. Let’s do a little experiment; if you book had a soundtrack, what are the first 5 songs you would include?

Well, I’m not much into music, but I can think of 3.

  • Looking for Love in All the Wrong Places (Especially for Once Bitten)
  • Stairway to Heaven (Once Forbidden)
  • Hotel California (Once Forbidden)

Ready to go back under the microscope lens, Hope? Aside from writing or reading, what is your favorite past time?

Oh! I’m a major TV addict. I’ve been known to spend days watching entire TV series. I’m also a huge advocate of ALS Awareness. For that reason, I started Authors4als.

Please tell us a little bit more about that.

Thousands each year are afflicted with ALS–better known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease. Those afflicted lose all use of their body–including speech. It’s normally a quick progressing killer. I wanted support awareness, so started Authors 4 ALS.  It’s a place where anyone can purchase a book from Amazon using the link on the website,  http://authors4als.blogspot.com and have 4% of any sales go to help fund ALS Guarian Angels–a 100% non-profit group that supports those with ALS. ALS is mostly a one-man show, yet he manages to fund and help hundreds.

That’s honorable. Good job! If you had a bucket list, what is the one thing you would do or one place you would go that would be #1?

That one is easy; going to Australia. It’s somewhere I’ve always wanted to go.

That sounds lovely. A friend of mine is there right now! Is there anything else you would like to tells readers?

I’d like readers to know that while I write stories I enjoy and want to tell, I’m always very open to what they have to say about my writing. I am writing another book in the Prophecy Series based on what readers wanted- they wanted more of Lana and Cole, so I decided to give it to them. I’m also especially humbled when readers write and tell me they’ve enjoyed my writing.

Thank you for joining us, Hope. It has been a blast delving into your secrets and learning about you. Now, if you could just follow me, we’ll get your fingerprints on file and you’ll be all set to go! Lol, just kidding. Readers, if you’d like to find out more about Hope Welsh or connect with her, please see the links below.

http://hopewelsh.blogspot.com/

http://www.hopewelsh.net/

Or follow her on Twitter: @HopeWelsh

Also, would you like to win a copy of Hope’s first book? We have two up for grabs! Comment below for a chance to win! Winners chosen on March 31st 2013! Good luck!

~Genevieve~

P.S Look for a review in a later post of Hope’s book: Linked.

5 thoughts on “Interview & Giveaway with Hope Welsh

Leave a Reply

