Review of Secrets of the Sapphires

Secrets of the Sapphires, by T. Sue Versteeg, was mindblowing. There won’t be much in the WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE column with this one.

2940014792486_p0_v1_s260x420

RATING: A+

COVER DESIGN: I loved the cover and subtle message that the woman’s sapphire blue top sends to my brain. This cover definitely represents the story, without giving it all away; sort of like a subtle neckline, rather than a plunging let’s see your nipples one. The only thing I would change about the cover is the color of the model’s hair, as the character has Strawberry Blonde hair and not brown.

WHAT I LIKED:ย Well, to be honest, I liked almost everything about this book. I can’t wait for the next one and I hope that our trusty friend Alex has his own story sometime (assuming that he doesn’t already and I just don’t know about it). This story is reminiscent of the TV show FRINGE. It has plenty of twists and turns and unexpected moments; including time travel. Now, I’m not saying that she stole the idea from FRINGE, because she obviously didn’t, but I’m saying that it made me think of FRINGE and that’s great, because that was an amazing show. As a matter of fact, this book felt more like a movie to me. I was on the edge of my seat, biting my fingernails the whole time.

I loved Nia, because she is a kick ass “don’t tell me what to do” spit-fire that I’d gladly let cover my ass in any adventure. Redheads Unite! (Okay, so technically strawberry blondes, but that doesn’t have such a nice ring to it lol). The Vamps in this book were so realistic that I fear the author has first hand experience.

One of the characters keeps a secret right up until the end, even from the readers, and makes the end completely unpredictable and shocking and I LOVED it! I won’t go into too much detail, but let me just say that usually I don’t like those blindsided type of revelations in books at the end, but this time it was like a slap in the face; a good kind of slap in the face, like when the Autumn leaves whip through the wind and hit you. It got me all fuzzy and exhilerated inside.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE: There is only 1 thing that I have to put in this category. It was 516 pages! However, I don’t think it could have been so incredible if it had been shorter, so that is just me being nit picky.

ADDITIONAL NOTES: Great job, T. Sue Versteeg. This book was highly entertaining and nerve wrecking and I loved every second of it. Please, pretty please, keep writing and I hope to see Alex’s story one day soon. YOU truly are a professional writer.

~Genevieve~

7 thoughts on “Review of Secrets of the Sapphires

Leave a Reply

