Review of A Vampire Hunter’s Daughter Part 1

A Vampire Hunter’s Daughter Part 1 by Jennifer Malone Wright is a very good story. However, there are a few things I need to critic along with what I praise; so here goes.

RATING: A

Cover Design: The cover of this book (seen below) is very nice and alluring, but doesn’t make me think of the story or the emotion that I felt while reading this. I think the cover design could be upgraded to fit more with the storyline, but since we don’t judge a book by its cover, please read further for the reasons you should still check this out.

263240_196459043748261_942742_n

What I liked: This story was mesmerizing and intriguing. It was very well thought out and I am looking forward to the next installment. While the Grandfather was giving his speech, I almost thought he was talking to me instead of to Chloe and that is a very important talent that a lot of authors lack. I’m enjoying the POV of the Vampire Hunters, rather than the Vampires like a lot of Paranormals do these days. This book can in no way be compared to Twilight, because it is far better and anyone looking to read a story that is similar to Twilight will be gravely disappointed. However, if you are looking for the complete opposite of the Twilight books (I.E Well written) you will no doubt love this.

What I didn’t like: Unfortunately, there is a few things that I didn’t like in this story. I hate saying that, because they are very minor compared to the story. They would in no way make me stop reading the series, but I feel they should be pointed out. I hope, if the author reads this, that she is not offended by my words. Okay, here goes. First, I want to say the obvious flaw with this story: It ended way too quickly and left me a little disappointed that I had no more to read. However, with that being said, I also can not wait for the next part… Even though I won’t be able to buy it until I come into some money or can get it for free 😉 lol. Now, one more critic about this book. While the author did a fantastic job with writing it and keeping me emotionally attached, I do feel that one part of her writing could use a bit of improvement. However, I do not know if this was simply a factor of the speed in which she wrote or… whatever. I am not judging, but I wanted to point it out. Also, this may just be me, so it’s really a matter of opinion. Okay okay, I’ll stop beating around the bush. The author’s biggest flaw is her reuse of words in a paragraph. For instance, on page 46, she uses the word library at least three times and to me it starts to sound… redundant, I guess. Again, this may just be me and it is in no way a hinderance to the story.

Additional notes: I wish I could say more about this book, but since it was only part 1 that I read, I can’t. So, I will leave you with this. Pick up this story, because it will leave you intrigued, anxious, and emotionally involved; which, in it’s self, is what we as readers are looking for. Yes?

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

