Review of the movie JACK THE GIANT SLAYER

Jack-The-Giant-Slayer-wallpapers-1

RATING: A

Well, I just got back from the Marquee Cinemas after watching JACK THE GIANT SLAYER and let me tell you, I have a lot to say. First off, let’s talk about the main actor in the movie. Nicholas Hoult (also the star of WARM BODIES) is a very talented young actor and I would gladly watch him in any movie- so long as that movie isn’t some stupid teen flick or “scary” movie. And, let me tell you, that I think I’ve found my new naughty crush. If I HAVE to succumb to the end of Merlin on SYFY Network and no longer see Colin Morgan and his cute self, then Nicholas Hoult is a good substitute and runner-up in the adorable department. Speaking of the adorable department, Nicholas Hoult and Eleanor Tomlinson (who portrays the Princess) complement each other perfectly in this movie.

As for the movie itself, it was an action packed tale of a boy, his village, and his loyalty to the royal family. There was never a dull moment in this flick and I was constantly on the edge of my seat. While some of the scenes were predictable, the execution kept you wondering when certain things were going to go down. The special effects were fantastic, though I still believe that movie-makers need to find a way to make the movements of computerized humans a little bit more realistic and fluid. When the characters were climbing the beanstalk, for instance, it was obvious by the way their arms flailed or the way the supposed breeze caught their capes that they were animated. A word of caution to anyone with hearing trouble, prone to headaches, or just can’t take loud noises; I would NOT attend this movie in the theaters, but rather wait until it is released on DVD so you can control the volume. As for the villains in the movie- the giants- my feeling toward them can be summed by what one of the little girls attending the showing had said; “Is he dead yet?” 🙂

I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone interested in the “paranormal”; however, I did not agree with some of the adults decision to bring their small children.

~Genevieve~

Leave a Reply

