Character Interview of Trent Claus

bigstock-Young-cheerful-man-with-gift-b-37492852

Me: I am happy to interview Trent today. He is a great character and has been an amazing friend. Thank you for joining us today Trent.

T: You’re welcome, it’s a pleasure.

Me: Ok, the first question that the fans had for you is, how did you know that Cindy was your destined bride?

T: It’s hard to explain. You know that feeling you get when you see someone on the street that you know? The feeling of excitement and the fact that every memory of that person starts to flash through your mind? It’s like that. You feel as if you have known the person forever and have already made beautiful memories with them. When I first saw Cindy, it was like I’d been punched in the gut and had the wind knocked out of me. We know that we all have a heart in our chests, but when I saw Cindy, it felt like that was the first time I’d ever actually felt my heart beat.

Me: That’s so sweet. How did you know that Cindy wouldn’t freak out when you came to her door and tried convincing her of your love?

T: *Blushes*. Actually, I didn’t. I thought she would throw a lamp at my head at first, but she was a lot more receptive of the whole idea than I expected. Sometimes, I still can’t believe it.

Me: Keeping with that line of questioning, one of your fans would like to know about past Santas. Have any of them ever been divorced or is that frowned upon?

T: Not at all. Actually, my own Grandfather was Santa Claus before my father and he had gotten divorced from his Mrs. Claus (my Grandmother) after twenty years. Grandmother couldn’t take the pressure of being Santa’s wife and found it in their best interest to file for divorce. She went on to remarry and Grandfather served as Santa by himself for another fifteen years.

Me: That’s nice to hear. *Smile*. We all know that you didn’t want to be Santa Claus at first, but we don’t know why. Would you mind explaining this to us?

T: Of course. I didn’t want to be forced into something just because it was the family business. I wanted to find myself first before I decided what my future held for me.

Me: I guess you found yourself?

T: I did, but I wonder if I would have if it hadn’t been for Cindy.

Me: Speaking of Cindy, if you two have children in the future, but don’t have a son, would the line of Santa Claus be broken or could one of your daughters be the big guy?

T: Definitely. There is no gender bias when it comes to the role of Santa Claus. The job chooses whomever it wishes. If I had actually not been meant to be Santa, one of my sisters would have taken the reins.

Me: Interesting. Have there ever been past female Santas?

T: Well, not so far, but maybe in the future.

Me: You mentioned your sisters in a past answer. One fan was wondering, did you ever wish you had a brother?

T: I love my sisters, but if one of them had been a boy, I wouldn’t have loved him any more or less. I’ve grown up with my best friend, Garrett, and he’s been like my brother. We even took pilot classes together.

Me: Yes, Garrett and I have chatted lately. I’ll be writing his story next.

T: That’s great to hear. I’m sure you’ll do a great job like you did with mine.

Me: *Blushing*. Thank you.

T: Would you mind if I told your readers our little secret?

Me: Not at all! It will be mentioned in Garrett’s story, but why not give them something to look forward to.

T: Great. Well, to all the readers and fans out there… I am pleased to announce that Cindy is pregnant! She’s not far along and we don’t know much about the baby yet, but we’re very excited.

Me: Congratulations.

T: Thanks. Any other questions?

Me: Not right now, but if anyone comes up with any other questions we’ll get together again and I’ll add an addendum onto this post.

T: Great! You know you can call me anytime.

Leave a Reply

