Review of The Imposter by Tiffany Carmouche

Overview: Nicole moves to Alaska to start a new life. She gets a job as a waitress with her friend to raise money and bring her beautiful little girl to live with her. Escaping an abusive ex-husband, crappy living situation, and shaky financials, she tries to focus on her job and the live she is building for her and Jessica, but she never expected to find Dylan burning a hole inside of her with his sexy smile and unbelieveably perseptive eyes. When she finally finds a place to live, she thinks it’s too good to be true… Turns out, it is.

 

Please keep in mind that these are constructive criticisms. I am in no way saying that the book is bad or that you shouldn’t read it, I am merely stating my opinion in order to help the author in the future. *Please don’t hate me Tiffany!*

 

The Imposter is a suspenseful read. When I read it, it made the cold Autumn nights just a tad bit warmer. It was heartfelt, romantic, and intriguing. I found myself needing to know what happened next.

Now, the criticism part.

While this was a great read, I did find it a little difficult to get through. Mainly, it was the use of dialogue. Using words such as, I am instead of I’m all the time made the dialogue a little unbelieveable. For example, “Hey Chris, we are going out on the boat next weekend in Seweard.” To me, at least, this sounds unnatural. Most people would say we’re in stead of we are, but maybe it’s just me and what I am used to. Also, when a group of people are together in this book, the author uses “you all” a lot. Now, I am not criticizing this one, because I do not know how people talk from whereever she is from, but it made it a little difficult to read.

To lighten the mood, I will say that the last 4 or 5 chapters were very suspensful and nerve wrecking. I loved them! You never knew what was coming next. I wasn’t a huge fan of the cliffhanger ending, but I’m really enjoying the way she is making it sort of a contest as to what’s going to happen next.

In reference to the actual author, she is amazing with her fans on Facebook and I imagine she would be even more amazing with them in person. Voting on the cover image for the second installment of this novel is very clever and helps the readers to connect with the story. I hope this helps her and doesn’t make her have any less confidence in herself, because she is very talented and knows how to put the heart into a story. Good luck on your next one Tiffany!

MY VOTE IS FOR THE SECOND ONE…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…WHICH COVER DO YOU PREFER?

One thought on “Review of The Imposter by Tiffany Carmouche

  1. Thanks for reviewing the book. I am glad you found it “It was heartfelt, romantic, and intriguing.” and found yourself,”needing to know what happened next.” The great thing about your criticism is that is an easy fix… find “I am” … replace with “I’m” 🙂 I can do it easily for the paperback and November sales of the ebook. We “marylanders” say “you all”… so I’m not going to change that lol. I also have a tendency to say “ya’ll” but that is my New Orleans roots 🙂 Thanks for your vote as well on the cover. I am curious to see what your followers choose.

Leave a Reply

